Brussels, Belgium,

Toyota Motor Europe awards 46 top performing retailers in Europe for Customer Recommendation

Toyota Motor Europe (TME) announced the winners of the 2016 “Ichiban” European Customer Recommendation Award during an event held in Rome, Italy.

Customer First philosophy has always been a focus of Toyota and is part of the company’s DNA. With this principle in mind a total of 46 awards were presented to retailers from 34 markets, in recognition of their exceptional performance in Customer Recommendation results both in Sales and After Sales.

‘Ichiban’ is the Japanese word borrowed from ‘Okyakusama Ichiban’ which means ‘Customer First’, with ‘Ichiban’ meaning ‘first’ or ‘number one’.

This year is the 10th Ichiban Awards ceremony and marks the change from Customer Satisfaction to Customer Recommendation; moving from satisfying our customers to providing an exceptional customer experience. This requires a mindset which is characterised by a combination of high empathy and an uncompromising view of doing what is right for the customer. 

Approximately 2,300 European retailers were evaluated on their performance in customer recommendation as well as business performance.

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Dr. van Zyl, President and CEO of TME said: “We want not only to be Number 1 in the hearts and minds of our Customers - but we want the Customer to be Number 1 in the hearts and minds of every person in every retailer - from the hostess and technician to you. Customer Recommendation is not a statistical exercise, it's not a number game - it's about connecting to our Customers, it's about creating one to one relationships with them.”


Country Retailer Name Award Winners
Austria Scheibelhofer GmbH Karl Scheibelhofer
Azerbaijan Toyota Center Baku LLC Parviz Gafarli
Belgium Garage Trullemans René Trullemans
Bosnia and Herzegovina Sladaboni d.o.o. Slavko Jotanovi?
Bulgaria Nikom-Ruse Ltd Nikolay Petrov
Croatia Rotus Novosel d.o.o. Tomislav Novosel
Czech Republic Auto Eder s.r.o. Jan Eder
Denmark STS Biler A/S Holstebro Ejgild Nørgaard Christensen
Estonia Elke Auto AS Riho Sepp
Finland Oy Porvoon Autotarvike Ab Kari Wilkman
France Toys Motors La Roche-Sur-Yon Ronan Chabot
France GCA Cholet David Gaist
France Avenir Auto, Villeneuve-lès-Béziers Bary Philippe
Germany Autohaus Dörr GmbH Bernd Dörr
Germany Auto Hausmann GmbH Georg Hausmann
Germany Autohaus Nix GmbH Werner Nix
Greece Ν?κη Βαμβακ?ρη A.E. Panagiotis Bailas
Hungary Koto Autohaz Kft. Laszlo Toth
Ireland Grange Motors Ltd. Paul Coleman
Israel Habamin Dealership Eyal Oxenberg
Italy Bi Auto S.p.A. Roberta Biancalani
Italy TD Car S.r.l. Giuseppe Distefano
Italy Fuji Auto S.r.l. Enzo Mattiauda
Latvia Wess Motors Ber?i Ivans Tiš?enko
Lithuania Mototoja UAB Edmundas Povilauskas
Netherlands Gebr. van Gent Autobedrijf B.V. Cor van Gent
Norway Funnemark Larvik Ole Johnny Christiansen
Poland Toyota Katowice Hanna Ka?wa Pawlak
Portugal Caetano Auto Lisboa Rui Anastácio
Romania Toyota Suceava Vlad-Ilie Rebenciuc
Russia Toyota Center Samara Aurora Pavel Atanov
Russia Toyota Center Orsk Aleksandr Leshkov
Russia Toyota Center Kirov Aleksei Mamochkin
Serbia Toyota Centar Beograd Dino Brekalo
Slovakia Autocentrum Nitra, spol. s.r.o. Stanislav Rusko
Slovenia Center Jereb Andrej Jereb
Spain Tresa Motor - Toyota Ciudad Real Francisco Carrion Alberdi
Spain Comauto Sur S.L.U. Nemesio Matias Corral
Spain Marescar Motor Carlos Solano Abad
Sweden Gunnar Virén Bil AB Claes Virén
Switzerland Emil Frey AG Safenwil Roberto Giannelli
Turkey Toyota Plaza Çavdarl? Volkan Çavdarl?
Ukraine Toyota Center Kharkiv Artcity Oleg Topchiy
United Kingdom Burrows Toyota Barnsley Steve Davidson
United Kingdom Hodgson Toyota Newcastle Steve Hodgson
United Kingdom Helensburgh Toyota Gary Mulvaney